English Language ~ paper one introduction

In paper one you will look at text representations.

You will receive two texts and three questions:

  1. Analyse how text A uses language to create meanings and representations [25 marks]
  2. Analyse how text B uses language to create meanings and representations [25 marks]
  3. Compare and contrast text A and text B, showing ways in which they are similar and different in their language use [20 marks]

Personally, paper one is my strongest paper, but for many people it is the most difficult.

For me, it is easiest because of the structure and the predictability, always the same three questions, the same marks, the same timing, the same set of terminology to learn, the same word classes, the same GASPPM descriptions to discuss.

I will discuss in this portion of my blog the ways to describe and analyse texts, and the essential, seemingly endless lists of terminology, including adjectives, adverbs, pronouns, sentence structures, noun phrases, and so on and so forth.

 

I’m not promising a post every week due to the vast amounts of work I have to do during term time, but I hope to upload an English post every Monday

If anyone has anything specific they would like me to discuss immediately then please do let me know.

Leave a Reply

